Keep Davis Water Treatment Ponds wild

The ponds at the Davis Wastewater Treatment Plant have been one of the top birding spots in Yolo County for over 50 years. With 212 species reported via eBird, only two other sites in the county have recorded more (Yolo Bypass Wildlife Area and Davis Wetlands).

Here’s a short video clip from October 2020 illustrating the amazing bird life. A family of Sandhill Cranes walks among thousands of geese, ducks, and shorebirds while the calls of curlews filled the air. A Peregrine Falcon and a Northern Harrier buzzed past. Though the ponds are no longer part of the water treatment plant operations, they still collect rain water and provide habitat. Over 14,000 ducks have been counted on them during the annual Christmas Bird Count. The list of rarities includes everything from Slaty-backed Gull and Arctic Tern to Vermillion Flycatcher.

Earlier this year, the Davis City Council voted 4-1 to lease these ponds to BrightNight solar to convert these ponds into a solar array. Aside from the obvious risk of bird mortality from panel strikes, the project would eliminate one of the best bird habitats in the county. The City Council’s decision has been criticized for its impact on wildlife, for the improper process bypassing the Natural Resources Commission, and for its poor financial terms (the city got ripped off). Gloria Partida, Dan Carson, Will Arnold, and Brett Lee approved it. Only Lucas Frerichs voted against the deal.

But it’s not too late to try to stop it. Here’s what you can do:

1. Call or email each City Council member and ask them to rescind their original vote. Their phone numbers are available here. We need three of them to overturn the original decision. Will Arnold has expressed regret for his vote and Gloria Partida was skeptical at the outset. We also may have an opportunity after the election with new Council member to overturn this decision.

  • Gloria Partida — gpartida@cityofdavis.org
  • Will Arnold — warnold@cityofdavis.org
  • Dan Carson — dcarson@cityofdavis.org
  • Brett Lee — blee@cityofdavis.org
  • Lucas Frerichs — lucasf@cityofdavis.org

2. Call or email Valley Clean Energy Alliance board members and ask them to reject the bid from BrightNight for a new power contract. Their emails are here:

  • Angel Barajas — angel.barajas@cityofwoodland.org
  • Dan Carson — dcarson@cityofdavis.org
  • Lucas Frerichs — lucasf@cityofdavis.org
  • Gary Sandy, Vice Chair — gary.sandy@yolocounty.org
  • Don Saylor — don.saylor@yolocounty.org
  • Tom Stallard, Chair — tom.stallard@cityofwoodland.org
  • Duane Chamberlain, alternate — duane.chamberlain@yolocounty.org
  • Xochitl Rodriguez, alternate — xochitl.rodriguez@cityofwoodland.org

3. Join the effort to increase transparency in City government that would have prevented this travesty. You can see more on that here.